Supporting men who support women

April 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

We have a new department chair, who is great: actively supporting a junior woman colleague who is pregnant, running collegial meetings,  guiding the department through a search in that is closer to best practices than we have ever managed in the past.

I take the time to say ‘thank you, I notice and appreciate your efforts.’  I also take a moment to forward my thanks to our dean, while pointing out that the department chair is making our department a more effective place for all of us to work.  And then I take one more moment to  forward our dean’s good wishes back to the rest of our faculty (with permission of course).

This may be a small thing, but I am genuinely very grateful.  I also want this chair to continue the good work, and I want the rest of the department (some of whom are not so enlightened) to know that the people in the college who control the purse strings, also approve of these woman friendly practices.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Supporting men who support women at What We're Doing About What It's Like.

meta

