Getting some great support from students

April 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have been teaching very successfully as a (very seasoned) sessional lecturer in philosophy, with great feedback from students who have been really enjoying learning about feminist and other progressive perspectives.  However, my contribution is being undervalued by those in charge.  Several students in my classes have been regularly telling me that they wished I could offer more courses.  I explained to them my position and status was limited.  Some students have taken it upon themselves to get me to offer more courses and have been sending around a petition for students to sign!  Pretty proactive! We will see what happens.. but it seems being an enthusiastic teacher and mentor can be an enjoyable end in itself and also possibly a means to greater job security.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Getting some great support from students at What We're Doing About What It's Like.

meta

