Having women at conferences, and how it helps

May 16, 2011 § 1 Comment

I, a woman and graduate student, recently attended two fairly prestigious philosophy conferences. I noticed and appreciated the large number of female professors at these  conferences. Many gave excellent talks and asked insightful questions, and in my opinion, were treated very much like equals. I found myself thinking, “I want to be like her someday!” It was shocking to realize I hadn’t seen other professors as ‘someone I could be,’ and I’m guessing it’s because they’re mostly male.

So, women, your presence and competence does not go unnoticed or unappreciated at conferences, and it may very well inspire some graduate women to stay in philosophy.

§ One Response to Having women at conferences, and how it helps

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Having women at conferences, and how it helps at What We're Doing About What It's Like.

meta

