What someone did to help a sexual assault survivor

April 16, 2014 § 2 Comments

After being ostracized in 2005 for reporting sexual harassment and assault from my dissertation adviser–which he admitted to doing–I am considering going back and finishing my Ph.D.

Yesterday, I spent an hour-and-a-half on the phone with a tenured professor at a well-known university. She had read my story and through a mutual friend, ended up exchanging emails. This exchange lead to the phone call.

She took time out of her day to essentially mentor me and brainstorm what she can do to help secure my “return”.

There is so much hope right now, hope I haven’t felt in years. I keep thinking, “Someone who’s never read my work believes in me.”

She also (unfortunately) understands all too well the PTSD that sometimes haunts you after being harassed and assaulted. It was nice to talk to someone who understood.

§ 2 Responses to What someone did to help a sexual assault survivor

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What someone did to help a sexual assault survivor at What We're Doing About What It's Like.

meta

